Graduated from the Ecole Polytechnique in 1973 and the Ecole des Mines de Paris in 1976, doctor of engineering from the Ecole des Mines de Paris. From 1981 to 2017, researcher at the Laboratoire de mécanique des solides at the Ecole Polytechnique, which he directed from 1990 to 2001. Associate Professor of Continuous Media Mechanics at the Ecole Polytechnique from 1989 to 2000. Scientific adviser in the Department of Sciences Pour l’Ingénieur at the CNRS from 1998 to 1997. Chairman of the Scientific Council of the LCPC from 1998 to 2006. Expert at the Scientific Council of IFPen. Member of the Editorial Committee of the Oil & Gas Science and Technology Review. Author or co-author of 200 articles (Reviews or Conference Proceedings) in the fields of plasticity, visco-plasticity, stability, thermomechanics, thermodynamics applied to underground structures, mines, tunnels, gas, oil or radioactive waste storage. Grand Prix du Gaz de France awarded by the Académie des Sciences in 1999. Chairman of the Groupe Permanent Déchets at the Autorité de Sûreté Nucléaire. Member (liaison) of the International Geomechanical Commission on underground nuclear testing in French Polynesia (1988-1999), Chairman of the Steering Committee set up after the fire in Stocamine (2001); member of the Blue Ribbon Commission to the State of Louisiana after the collapse of Bayou Corne (2013-2014). President of the Solution Mining Research Institute in 2011.

Articles published on this website: